Daily Archives: December 22, 2012

Snapshot Saturday – Home for the Holidays

Hello from Central New York!

12:22-christmas-tree

It feels great to be home for the holidays!  Even though I saw my family last weekend, we haven’t been together at home since Thanksgiving, so I’m happy and thankful we’re all together again.  Including Zelda.

12:22-zelda

I missed her so much!  Today’s been a low-key, relaxing day.  I watched the Syracuse basketball this afternoon, which I do not want to talk about.

12:22-syracuse-loses-temple

Yep, Jim Boeheim was seriously peeved. (And yes, my beloved Orange lost to the Temple Owls.) I then proceeded to drown my sorrows by baking some Christmas cookies.  First, Margaret and I made fudge-filled sandies.

12:22-christmas-cookie-bake-off

We split one for “quality control purposes,” and they tasted yummy!

12:22-fudge-filled-sandies

We also baked a batch of gingerbread men.

12:22-gingerbread-men

We’ll decorate them tomorrow, and we also have at least three more types of cookies to make, so we’ll be busy!  Oh, and between measuring flour, setting the timer, and moving cookies to cooling racks, I totally OD’d on my grandma’s homemade toffee.

grandmas-toffee

You can’t stop at one piece; the stuff is seriously addicting, so we call it crack–ha!  Hopefully there will be more at our family dinner tomorrow.

Do you bake Christmas cookies?  What’s your favorite type of cookie to make—or eat?