Daily Archives: December 21, 2012

This Week in Photos – Christmastime in New York City

Hi, friends!  It feels like I haven’t talked to you in forever because of the one two three weekend recaps, plus a race report.  Like the weekend, this week has been packed with activities—finishing up some freelancing assignments, doing some last-minute gift shopping, and packing for my trip home.  Honestly, I didn’t take a ton of pictures this week, but I will share the ones I snapped and Instagrammed.  My alma mater has a weekly website feature called “This Week in Photos” (or TWIP for short), so I’m borrowing that concept for this post.

It’s wine o’clock somewhere.

glenora-finger-lakes-wine

This bottle of Finger Lakes wine was conveniently left behind from my family’s visit.  Oh, well; someone needs to drink it.  Time to get merry! (Kidding, sort of.)

At the end of one of this week’s runs on the Westside Highway, I saw this billboard.

bike-billboard

Kudos to the marketing department; they know their audience!

“Santa!  I know him!” (In Buddy the Elf’s voice.)

christmas-shopping-container-store

Finishing up some last-minute Christmas shopping at The Container Store, aka heaven on earth.

On Tuesday night, my alma mater held a holiday gathering, and before the event, I met up with some friends for drinks. (We needed some liquid courage to get our networking juices flowing.) Anyway, aren’t these lights gorgeous?

christmas-lights-midtown-nyc

It’s a blurry picture, but these Christmas lights took the shape of actual lights.

Remember my pre-season triathlon training plan that calls for one run per week in Central Park?  I finally made it there yesterday morning.

central-park-nyc

This was my first run in the park ever, and I will never forget it.  The crisp temperature and gorgeous scenery made tackling the hills more bearable. Kind of.

central-park-nyc2

Since I’m from Central New York, I’m no stranger to hills, but I haven’t ran them in … uh …three months?  It was a wakeup call for sure, especially because the run course of the New York City Triathlon goes through Central Park.  I definitely have my work cut out for me, but I’m ready!

Speaking of triathloning, I went to the Full Throttle Endurance holiday party last night.  No pictures to share, but I had a blast!  I was a little nervous because the only person I knew there was Andrew (so I essentially went to a 150-person party only knowing one person), but it was totally fine.  Triathletes are super friendly and welcoming by nature, so I knew making friends wouldn’t be a problem, and it was great to meet some future teammates.  It was funny, though, because I was the youngest person there by at least five years, so I got called a baby a few times!  Everyone seemed incredibly passionate about the sport and had nothing but great things to say about the coaches and team–is it Jan. 7 yet?

Happy Friday!  How are your Christmas preparations coming along?  Where will you be spending the holidays?