Daily Archives: December 14, 2012

Premier Protein Review

During the craziness of Hurricane Sandy, I received a sampling of Premier Protein products.

premier-protein4

Filled to the brim with bars and shakes, this package took me nearly one month to polish off.  I typically schedule my workouts before meals, so I really don’t eat post-sweat session snacks.  However, life can sometimes get in the way of training (crazy, right?), making grab-and-go nutrition necessary.

premier-protein5

The first items I tried included the protein shakes.

11:9-premier-protein

From a nutrition standpoint, these drinks boast some serious stats:  30g protein, 5g carbs, and only 1g sugar.  I loved the chocolate shake; it tasted like chocolate milk.  The vanilla one, however, had a richer and creamier consistency, so I didn’t care for it.

premier-protein-vanilla-shake

In addition to the four protein shakes, the package contained a total of six protein bars—double chocolate crunch, chocolate peanut butter, and yogurt peanut crunch.

premier-protein-bar

Like the shakes, the bars contain 30g protein, but they also pack more calories (280-290 depending on the flavor) and sugar (8-10g).

premier-protein-bar2

I ate one after the 3rd Annual F-M Turkey Trot, and I wasn’t hungry until our late-afternoon Thanksgiving meal; their staying power proved impressive.  However, they tasted like typical protein bars, including the dreaded aftertaste.

Overall, I would recommend the shakes, but the bars didn’t do it for me.

Full disclosure:  I won a “Protein Pop” giveaway from Premier Protein.  The company sent me a complimentary package of products.  I was not required to write a review, but I thought you’d enjoy learning more about the brand.